NOT In My Home {Vintage} Arco Lamp

The One that Got Away.

On Saturday evening I went to an estate sale here in Orlando after perusing some online photos of the merchandise.  In the photos I saw something I desperately wanted for the shop (or for my own home).  It is one of those classic mid-century designs that you rarely find at flea markets or estate sales…the arco floor lamp.

This lamp was designed by the Castiglioni brothers in 1962 and is the epitome of retro modern style, which can often be spotted in design magazines.  The lamp is still in production by reputable companies like Design Within Reach, but at very lofty prices!  There are many knock-off versions of the lamp as well, many do not have a marble base or the “arch” is not quite as elegant and bowed as the original.  The one at the auction had a brass finish and was not an exact match to this original design, but a beautiful lamp nonetheless.  It did have a marble base but the base was not as tall as the one shown above.  These knock-offs still fetch between $300-$500 or more.

So, here’s the thing about Estate Sales.  It’s good practice to determine what you intend to bid on before the auction begins and you have to establish your price “limit.”  Otherwise, you can get caught up in the excitement of bidding and pay too much for an item.  It’s also a MUST to arrive at the auction in plenty of time to inspect the items up close during the “preview” hours.  Items are sold AS IS so you want to know exactly what you’re paying for. Okay, so the sad reality is that I did NOT win the bid.  I had to stop bidding after it surpassed the amount I was willing to pay for it.  I’m pretty sure the buyers wanted it for their own home because it was the only item they were bidding on.  They were obviously on a mission, like me.  So, I’m pretty sure it went to a good home, one that appreciates a good vintage mid-century find…but I’ll admit that I’m still a little heartbroken.

There will always be more estate sales…and more treasures in the future.

But darn it, I wanted that lamp! 😉

 

2 thoughts on “NOT In My Home {Vintage} Arco Lamp

  1. Hi,
    I saw an Arco lamp on Ebay not an original one but very close from the 70s. I went all the way to NYC and got it for $330. 3 weeks later I found a real Arco from the 60s and again in NYC (4 hours from me). My husband made another trip to get it. It’s so nice and I am so happy!!!!!!!!! So do not give up!!!

Leave a Reply

