In My Home {Handmade} Crewel Work

I visit the Etsy website several times a day.  I equate it to “window shopping” and thoroughly enjoy finding new and interesting handmade and vintage items.  It just never gets old, or at least it hasn’t yet.  I find it just as interesting to read about the different sellers on Etsy under the “Featured Seller” section.  Reading the interviews always leaves me feeling inspired and renews my passion for my own shop, Verdibou!

Some of the questions that are asked of the sellers are really cute, like, “What would be the title of your memoir and why?”  The answers that people give are very amusing.  My favorite question, however, is “What handmade possession do you most cherish?”

Every time I read the question, I immediately think of my most cherished possession: a framed piece of crewel work given to me by my maternal grandmother just a few years ago.  It was actually a trade, of sorts.  I was taking an intaglio printmaking class at the time.  Naturally, mothers and grandmothers always have first pick of any artwork generated by their offspring. 😉  So, I gave her one of my prints that she liked, and she gave me this.

It was handmade by my great-great-great-grandmother.  How incredible is that?  On the back, my grandmother typed up a small piece of paper which describes who made it (Margaret Anna Lydick) and how it was passed down through the generations to her.  It is the most beautiful piece of art I will ever own.

What’s your most cherished handmade possession?

2 thoughts on “In My Home {Handmade} Crewel Work

Leave a Reply

