Ode to the Yellow Bird

Yes, I’m dressing up as Big Bird this Halloween!  (If you don’t know what I’m talking about, you probably missed my treasury, Follow That Bird! and this blog post.)  Maybe you have been wondering, “Why Big Bird?”  And the answer is that I’ve had a love affair with Big Bird for quite a while now.  This isn’t the first time I’ve been Big Bird for Halloween, either.  I think I was 4 or 5 the last time I donned a beak and yellow feathers.

Spending a week with my 2 1/2 year old niece definitely prompted some memories of the past.  As I was reading, “Don’t Cry Big Bird” to Taylor Kate, I couldn’t help but think of the talking Big Bird I had as a kid.  It was pretty much the coolest thing ever!  Way cooler than Teddy Ruxpin, the talking bear.  All you had to do was lift Big Bird’s little tail feathers and push in a cassette, and PRESTO, talking bird!  What a great thing for parents, I might add.  Entertaining, educational and totally mesmerizing, it’s no wonder these things were so popular.

(I’m going to refrain from writing about the totally awesome technological toys that are out there for today’s kids.  It will just make me feel old and even more nostalgic than this post is turning out to be.  Ugh.)

My little self, deeply entranced by the Big Yellow Bird. 😉

Look for photos of my conceptual interpretation of the bird next week!!

Leave a Reply

